What to Do Today, This Week, Month, Year, and Life

What I am going to do. This is the most important decision we make, because deciding once, what we are going to do, shapes everything.

Let’s say you’re going out with family today. It will shape, who you are going to meet with, what you’re going to eat, how much travel you’ll have to do etc etc.

It was 2003, I remember that day. When I happily asked one of my class mate, if his mother is teacher too (my mother is an elementary school teacher for 27 years). He replied, “No, not at all. We don’t allow women to do such (dirty) jobs.”

And I did never talk to him again. 30 years ago, my mother made a choice, at that time there is was only single school for girls in our town and it was an elementary. She waited for an year, to study further, and then eventually with a lot of hard work she became a teacher. And it changed her life.

She was married, and then things went wrong. My father used to live for months far from us, and that time my mother was alone to feed us, our school fees and every little and big things. I believe if she would not be a teacher, then I would be a motor mechanic or something like that instead of a blogger and digital media learner.

Our goals and tasks make all other decision of our life. It is very simple, e.g, am I going to open Facebook in my browser or read a story, or am I going to write a new post. It decides everything.

For example (please make it real —>), if you decide to take care of your family. You’ll have to make decision like these, not to smoke any more, go for a walk. In short you’ll try your best to give a better person to your family.

Writing this blog has helped me a better human. When I decide to write a post, I do. I look into myself how ‘something which I’m going to write/preach’ relates to me. And it helps me change my actions.

Steve was very right, he emphasized on finding exactly what to do. And it worked well for him. Right now, like most of us, your mind is filled with thousand of ‘to do things‘ don’t bother. Just find on what you are going to do, find it, find it.

Because when you’ll decide what you are going to do. It is gonna change everything for you. And it is gonna change you into a better and happier and of course a healthier person.

Do you have any ‘what to do‘ story to share, or/and please share your leading thoughts in the comments below.

Two years back, I watched a documentry on Nation Geographic, Jailed Abroad, a 30 year old black guy was just released from the jail after 5 years in prison. He commented, ‘I have decided to become a better person for my 6 years old daughter and my wife. I think it is never too late.

He was right. It is never too late. Thank you.

PS. I am working on several things including my book (I have no idea how will the book go), this is why blog is lacking new post. Rest is all fine with me, how’re you?

14 thoughts on “What to Do Today, This Week, Month, Year, and Life

  1. Writing makes you better in many many ways.

    I always enjoy stories of those who challenge themselves to go beyond circumstances.

    I hope your can invest in your book.

    Many many people is going to connect to futures with better thoughts (so better decisions on their what to-dos) because of of the efforts of people like you.

    • I will second you, Seb.
      We certainly need more wise people to write down and share their insights and stories.
      As my first teacher Gary, was saying: there is no good or bad decision, only different consequences -> so, deciding what to do with our limited time in this world can shape our lives, those around us and if we are ‘crazy’ enough, we can change the world with our story.
      You both -> Waqas and Seb – are doing it,
      HUG.
      i.

    • Seb, you’re absolutely right on writing makes us better human, especially such incredible stories help beyond boundaries.

      I’m trying to include such stories in the book as well, thank you for all the comments and encouragement. 😀

  2. Hey Waqas!
    yeah we make decisions to make our life happier and better. It does not matter whether we make right or wrong decisions, the thing which matter is how we stand for the decision, how we stick to it, and how our decision transforms us gradually.

  3. I am a homeschooling mom, writier, illustrator, photographer. Every day, my life is so busy, what to do is never a problem. It is “what not to do?” But, I love the way you have posed the question. Tomorrow, I will make it a theme of our homeschooling day, as well as a them in my life. And a theme every other day after. Very powerful question–“What to do today?”

    • Doing work with out making a plan or setting a goal is not what helps us change life.

      Yes start working on ‘what to do today’ and you’ll be amazed with out comes, even if you get fail in first few weeks. But it’ll eventually get better.

      Thanks for the very first comment Tracy. I appreciate.

  4. It seems to me that most people don’t bother making a choice, they simply follow rote and let their life unfold. They don’t realize that not making a choice, really is a choice.

    Your mother could have simply followed the path laid out for her as many of her cohorts did, but she made a choice.

    • Exactly, ‘not making a choice’ is certainly a choice which many of us keep making.

      Yes I’m greatly thankful to my mother for making a different choice. Thank you Frances for the comment.

  5. (story) There is Always a Chance, and There is Always a Choice « Waqas A Day

  6. “In short you’ll try your best to give a better person to your family.” Favorite line out of the whole piece. And “family” can be community. Be the best of who you are. I really enjoyed your post.

What do you think?

