What I Want to Do

I was in grade 5. One day our teacher took the whole class to the playground. Where they have arranged different games for us, like football, cricket and some other running games. (I don’t remember all of them.)

When asked which game I wanted to play. I went for football. But after playing football for some 10 min, I watched around other students playing different games. I said to myself, “I don’t want to play football, instead I want to play cricket.”

And when I was handed the cricket ball, and bowled one or two overs. I said to myself, “I don’t want to be a bowler, instead I want to play as a batsman.”

And then I played cricket as a batsman next few years at school.

In 2006, I got admission in BS, and chose Physics as my major. After reading and failed tries of memorizing Physics for a year. I learned that I’m not a Physics guy.

Then I went to Economics and Political Science, but the only courses which I wanted were taught at senior level. Which meant I should have taken the basic course first.

In my first Political Science’s class, the teacher was very rude. She said something like this: “No one is going to tell me how to teach and how much to teach. And when I’m teaching, no one can interrupt to ask question etc.”

Later a fellow told me that, once a student proposed her for marriage before whole class. So now she takes extra care. The other Economics teacher was also not someone you can trust to learn from.

So, I hated those basic courses. I left them. And now I don’t remember which courses I studied in that year. But things went on.

In my second year at college, I was looking through course atlas where I found the description of Business Communication course interesting. So after giving some thoughts, I decided to take that course. I loved it.

Business Communication was probably my favorite course during my college years. Why? Everything this course had, have something to do in real life. I went to internet to take help. And I never turned back to college again. I dropped it.

I stayed at college for next one and half year, where I spent most of time reading business magazines and making notes of them. I especially was interested how people build business from scratch and how they turn tragedies into motivational tools.

Next I started learning how internet can be used. And this is where I am today, using it for my business.

What I have learned from my these experiences is this:

” You don’t get to know what you really want (or want to do), unless you start doing something. If you’ll do one thing, the experience will help you find out what is for you and why are you. “

So if you’re at some point wondering what you want to do (or can do). Start doing one thing which is before you. Go for your first call. May be you’ll fall at wrong place. But the experience of this wrong place shall eventually get you to the right place.

Also remember: DOING helps you think clearly. DO something.

Image from here

10 thoughts on “What I Want to Do

  1. Very interesting and truthful article. It is what I have to do for my future life.
    So…thank you for morning kick 🙂

  2. Like!! LIke to do things currently I really like, new, unexplored, etc, not the ones that envirnment around me creates as paradigms. we should all find time to allocate to this, although having fulltime jobs, this is something that may turn into a fulltime job:)

  3. Waqas,
    Its wonderful and reminding me of our College/University days. You have put stuff perfectly.

    How is your business going on? Have you built up?

  4. What Not To Do in 2012 « Waqas A Day

  5. Waqas is Twenty Four! « Waqas A Day

What do you think?

