A plain wrong advice: Do What You Love

Do what you love. <= This is probably one of the most common advice entreprenuers give to one another. Like many others, I loved it too, and try to followed many times.

But now my point is changed over the time and after going through many experiences. I was wrong and so was this advice.

To get over to one’s favourite place/situation, we have to do many things which we would not prefer to do other way.

For example, if I have to travel from Basirpur to Lahore to do my favourite thing. But I can’t find a direct bus which normally takes 4 hours to reach there. So I would first go to any other place, from where I can find the bus for Lahore and it can take up to 10 hours. I shall hate to be in bus for 10 hours for a 4 hour travel. But I know it is worth doing, so I shall bear no matter what.

Entrepreneurs are easy to target for anything, mostly because they are always listening and noticing. And ‘Do What You Love’ comes as a fool’s paradise for beginners like me.

I have come to a result that, one should not be as much focused on doing what one always love or preffer. Instead, the destination should control your action.

If you want to build YOUR FAVORITE THING, you shall might have to do one or two or many THINGS YOU HATE.

And if you are someone who wants to make remarkable difference, you’ll surely have to face/do many things which you’ll hate doing otherwise. Makes sense?

PS. Earlier at the start of this year, I promised to myself that I shall not be fooled again by Gurus, so this post is part of the plan.

Related Post:

– What popular startup advice is plain wrong? (Quora.com)

4 thoughts on “A plain wrong advice: Do What You Love

  1. The reason that this advice is so popular is because no one will listen to “Do what you do not love”.

    The better advice that I have heard is “Find the demands for your strengths and the supplies for your weaknesses”, and build a niche for yourself in that network.

  2. Seek first the kingdom of God and all these things will be added unto you.

    God says…
    written suck pronouncing couldest Every vaunt whereby quite
    stores calumnies treasures Fountain bottomless

  3. “Do what must be done.”

    Your worldly self must only be a vessel for your superior self to get where it wants to go. Emotions aren’t important, meaningful relationships are. Money isn’t important, it’s what you can do that counts.

    I’m an atheist.

  4. You Can Write A Great Blog Post If You | Waqas Ali

What do you think?

